Isabella Myers' Archive

Archive Module 1

Posted on: February 4, 2010

5 works I like and relate somehow to my interests:

Tuja, Máximo. “Surreal Portrait.” Collage. Max-o-matic date published unknown. 5 Feb. 2010.

<http://maxomatic.net/projespec2.php?mproyecto_id=0000000056&mnumfot=0&gt;

Becker, Simon. “LoveLines.” Illustration. B2302 – Portfolio of Simon Becker date published unknown. 5 Feb. 2010.

<http://b2302.de/misc.php&gt;

Morris, Antoine. “Cardboard Tiger.” Sculpture. The Practice of Everyday Design date published unknown. 5 Feb. 2010.

<http://everydaydesign.ca/index.php?/installart/tiger-tiger/&gt;

Smith, Leemun. “Wolf.” Collage. K R A F F H I C S date published unknown. 5 Feb 2010.

<http://stwrecords.eu/&gt;

Albertini, Romain. “Diamond Girl.” Portfolio // ROMAIN ALBERTINI date published unknown. 5 Feb. 2010.

<http://www.romainalbertini.fr/index.php?/graphic-design/diamond-girl/&gt;

3 pictures from the daily media that moved me:


Winter, Damon. “Fires in Port-au-Prince.” New York Times 22 Jan. 2010. 5 Feb. 2010.

<http://www.nytimes.com/packages/html/photo/2010-haiti/index.html&gt;

Stallknecht, Kim. “Crisp ling cod with Swiss card, pearl onions and bacon.” New York Times 3 Feb 2010. 6 Feb. 2010.

<http://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2010/02/03/dining/vancouver-dining-guide.html?ref=dining&gt;

Gough, Kate Edith. “Untitled page from the ‘Gough Album.'” New York Times 4 Feb. 2010. 6 Feb. 2010.

<http://www.nytimes.com/slideshow/2010/02/04/arts/20100205-VICTORIAN_6.html&gt;

3 pieces of text that interested me in some way:

“You who on my accounts so bitterly
tasted life, in tasting mine, my father,
the first muddy infusion of my must
tasting again and again, while I grew up,
and, occupied with the aftertaste of such an alien future,
scrutinized my beclouded upward gaze, —
you, my father, who since being dead,
often, in my hope, inside me, are afraid,
and put aside tranquility, which the dead have,
realms of tranquility, all for my bit of destiny,
am I not right? And you, am I not right,
who loved me for my small beginning
of love for you, from which I always came away,
because for me the space within your faces,
when I loved it, passed over into world-space,
where you no longer were …”

Rilke, Rainer Maria. Duino Elegies. City: Green Integer, 2001.

“Those who think of good schools solely in terms of their students’ scores on standardized tests miss the point. A school can educate in ways in which its curriculum cannot. It’s the soul of a school-its intangible persona, its character, its principles, its daily life over time, the impressions it makes, the efforts it inspires, and the moral authority it possesses-that helps mold a child into an educated, assured, humane, and caring adult. It takes a school-not just bricks and books- to educate a child.”

Smith, Robert. A Quaker Book of Wisdom. New York: Eagle Brook, 1998.

“In a German city a motorcyclist gets thrown onto the roadway into a collision. He lies on the pavement, unmoving. Pedestrians walk right by, and drivers gaze at him while they wait for the light to change. But no one stops to help. Finally, after fifteen long minutes, a passenger in a car that is stopped for the light rolls down a window and ask the motorcyclist if he’s been hurt, offering to call for help on a cell phone. When the incident is telecast by the station that has staged the accident, there is a sense of scandal: in Germany, everyone who has a driver’s license has been traine din emergency first aid, precisely for moments like this. As a German emergency room physician comments, “People just walk away when they see others in danger. They don’t seem to care.”

Goleman, Daniel. Social Intelligence. New York: Bantham Books, 2006.

1 song or music piece that stuck with me during the week:

Gray Death by Xiu Xiu

Album: Dear God I Hate Myself

This album hasn’t been released yet but Xiu Xiu is an experimental indie rock band based out of San Francisco, California. The band is centered by its frontman Jamie Stewart. I don’t think anything they’ve done has charted.

Youtube Link: [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nNzpDT_qL1Q]

1 movie that resonated in some manner:

The 400 Blows directed by François Truffaut (1959).

1 new artist, filmaker, writer, etc. I am inspired by:

Brett Manning, a Chicago-based artist, received her BFA in Fashion Design at the Illinois Institute of Art – Chicago. She has an extensive collection of ink drawings, paintings, and photography. In her own words, her art is (excerpt from her website brettisagirl.com):

I love to draw and I draw what I love. My work reflects my personality and the things that are most meaningful and sentimental to me. Man-made vs. Nature and the connection of all living things are common themes I enjoy illustrating. Combining that with my passion for texture, balance, pattern, fashion, and femininity, my work can become quite surreal and dream-like. Charming juxtapositions and fantastical, sometimes made up symbolism and allusions dwell within most of my art, but telling a story though my work is not a high priority, rather I find it more interesting when the viewer creates their own meaning. It is also not my intention to create an exact likeness, rather, while drawing a portrait, I try to capture their essence, what I believe to be his or her most pure, and enlightened, even awkward form. Drawing is very meditative for me, and when I am creating, I feel calm and at one with my surroundings, specifically with the art work, thus it becomes part of me, almost like a view into my brain at any specific moment, and strangely autobiographical… Ink and colored pencil have become my medium of choice, but I also work with graphite, oils, and watercolors when the mood strikes.
… It’s pretty simple…. But very complex…. And completely absurd.

I also love coffee, chocolate, cats, and 1960’s tunes.

Here is some of Brett Manning’s artwork that I enjoy:

Manning, Brett. “Sleep Sweet.” Brettisagirl.com 2009. 6 Feb 2010.

<http://brettisagirl.com/ink2009.html&gt;

Manning, Brett. “Princess.” Brettisagirl.com 2009. 6 Feb. 2010.

<http://brettisagirl.com/ink2009.html&gt;

Manning, Brett. “Sorceress.” Brettisagirl.com 2009. 6 Feb. 2010.

<http://brettisagirl.com/ink2009.html&gt;

1 description of an encounter I had this week that gave insight into my collection:

Talking about the multimedia I chose for my archive, I realized that it was focused primarily on collage, which is something I am interested in but have never considered mixing collage with drawing (something that existed in a few of the pieces). I think this would be an interesting method to utilize in my piece for critique specifically because it correlates with process.

Leave a Reply

